Supporting Tranformative Relationships in Diverse Environments Working Group (STRIDE)

Go to Growing Diverse Leadership Initiative homepage

Above, STRIDE members, families and friends participate in a family barbeque, a bowling fundraiser, practice hike, and volunteer jarring day. As we represent the many people and groups affected by this work, we remind ourselves to approach these depictions not as tokens, but as moments in the unique experiences of integral members or our community.

STRIDE groups in Baltimore, Philadelphia, the Greater DC Area and Charlottesville work to 1) create access for youth in each of these cities to attend Baltimore Yearly Meeting summer camps and 2) create communities of genuine diversity, equity, and inclusion in these youth serving programs.

STRIDE groups provide leadership opportunities for young adults as part of our core group and opportunities for volunteers of all ages! These groups use a combination of action and self-reflection [link to “Journey with Us” section below] to pursue our goals. Learn more about the different roles in STRIDE.


What does STRIDE do?

BYM camps provide opportunities for enrichment and leadership building in a wilderness environment and STRIDE is committed to ensuring that young people from all racial, geographical, and economic backgrounds have the opportunity to benefit from such an environment. In addition, we feel strongly that the young people we support contribute much to the communities they are a part of and that all benefit from their presence at the camp. Furthermore, research has shown that intergroup contact in collaborative settings builds cultural competence and lowers bias for all.  To this end we provide tuition assistance, gear, transportation, and orientation to families in the program as well as inclusion and equity training and consulting to camp & organizational staff. STRIDE members recruit campers and staff applicants, write grants, and organize events to raise funds and create community with camper families, city organizations, and members of local Meetings.


Journey with Us!

Working to create the Beloved Community is a journey we get to take together.  Try out this 10 min sample reflection from a STRIDE meeting. How does it relate to how you view this project? What lessons can you take into your own meeting or other groups you are a part of?

 

Interested in learning more? Check out these articles:


Who is STRIDE?

STRIDE members from 4 STRIDE cities show off tokens that represent the skills they bring.

STRIDE is made up of many different types of people including campers and families, volunteers, financial sustainers, community partners, and core members. The core members who keep it all going are as follows:

STRIDE Summer Info 2017

STRIDE Core Contacts

Role Name Phone Email
Outreach and Inclusion Coordinator (OIC) Dyresha Harris 267-997-0814 or
301-271-2156
OIC@bym-rsf.org
Assistant OIC - Camp Community Support Elaine Brigham 413-695-8484 elaine.brigham@gmail.com
Assistant OIC - STRIDE Logistical Support Hannah Brown 443-801-1571 hazbrown@gmail.com

Baltimore STRIDE Contacts

Name Phone Email
Hannah Brown 443-801-1571 hazbrown@gmail.com
Laura Grothaus 513-213-2046 Laura.E.Grothaus@gmail.com
Natalie Neill 410-530-3386 natalie.neill@gmail.com
Rosalie Eck 301-204-5780 rosalie.eck@gmail.com
Zuri Cavell-Allette 410-908-7960 zcavella@gmail.com
Giovanna Selvaggio 301-653-0602 giovanna.selvaggio@gmail.com

Charlottesville STRIDE Contacts

Name Phone Email
Madeleine Keach 434-825-4538 mfk2zd@virginia.edu
Julia Calland 434-760-2298 juliacalland@gmail.com
Chelsea "Chelly" Barbour 301-760-6370 barbourct@gmail.com

DC STRIDE Contacts

Name Phone Email
Hannah Evans 484-844-2414 hannahgrafevans@gmail.com
Jamie DeMarco 443-845-5601 jameswdemarco@gmail.com
Kait Loftur-Thun 703-405-6851 lofturthunk@gmail.com
Nathan Harrington 301-758-5892 nbharrington@yahoo.com
Nick Silverson 484-678-3895 nick.silverson@gmail.com
Nikki Richards 443-631-4038 nikkirichards1993@gmail.com
Sunshine (Lexi) Klein 301-787-4327 Sunshine.Klein@ssfs.org
Tom Clement 301-775-9106 t.clementcinema@gmail.com

Philadelphia STRIDE Contacts

Name Phone Email
Allegra Churchill 415-713-6343 ac8rf@virginia.edu
Amanda Wessel 240-393-7201 amanda.s.wessel@gmail.com
Erin Harbor 540-460-4756 ekharbor@gmail.com
Geneveive Beck-Roe 773-355-0710 gbeckroe@gmail.com
Joni Jeter 804-832-7276 jsjeter@brynmawr.edu
Jossie Dowling 301-651-0208 dowlingjw@gmail.com
Maria Adamson 240-475-6019 maria.g.adamson5@gmail.com
Tajae Bradley 610-455-5513 btajae@gmail.com